Portal Navigation

Top Row

Yearbook takes Top State Honors

Members of the 2018 LRCA Yearbook Staff were recognized recently with top honors from the Arkansas Scholastic Press Association (ASPA), a state-wide community of scholastic yearbook, broadcast, film, literary magazine, online newspaper and print newspaper staffs and their advisers.

Competing against member schools from throughout state and over all classifications, Olivia Havens and Rebecah Ortega were awards the highest honor of "Best of ASPA" distinction for Advertising Layout.

Abby Blankenship was awarded the "Best of ASPA" distinction for Sports Photograph.  Blankenship also received a Superior award for Academic Photograph.  

Other staff members receiving Superior awards include Grace Crain and Grace Ann Dickey for Academic Layout, Laurel Anne Harkins and Rebecah Ortega for Special Coverage Layout, and Shea De Bruyn for Sports Layout.  Audrey Davis and Rebecah Ortega received Excellent awards for Student Life Layout and Theme Photograph

Students receiving Honorable Mention recognition for additional entries are Abby Blankenship, Bebecca Brogdon, Grace Crain, Laurel Anne Harkins, Parker Moore, and Rebecah Ortega. 

Contest winners were announced at the ASPA Annual Convention held April 19-20 in Fort Smith.

The 2018 yearbook was created by 14 high school students led by Chief Editor Rebecah Ortega, a senior.